West Africa Scholarships

Commonwealth Masters Scholarships in South Africa 2018/2019

Commonwealth Masters Scholarships in South Africa 2018/2019 – This is to inform you about the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships in South Africa that is currently ongoing.

commonwealth masters scholarships in south africa

The Association of Commonwealth Universities has announced the commencement of Commonwealth Masters Scholarships in South Africa for 2018/2019 session.

Why study in South Africa

The Department of Higher Education and Training in South Africa says:

South Africa’s universities present a wide variety of academic and research opportunities at well-resourced, multi-cultural campuses, as well as numerous opportunities for extra-curricular activities. South African university qualifications are internationally recognised. South Africa is a preferred destination for international students; international students make up about 10% of students at public universities. All of South Africa’s universities welcome international students, and institutions have a dedicated international office to support this.


Scholarships are tenable at:

  • North-West University
  • Rhodes University
  • Stellenbosch University
  • University of Cape Town
  • University of Johannesburg
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal
  • University of Pretoria
  • University of South Africa


Please see this document for a list of applicable subjects. The scholarships are only tenable in the subjects listed for each university.

Application Deadline

Applications close on 13 July 2018 at 17:00 South Africa Standard Time.

The scholarships worth

  • Four scholarships are available, starting in January/February 2019
  • The scholarships provide full tuition fees, a return economy flight, an arrival allowance and a regular stipend (living allowance)
  • The scholarships are for Master’s study only and are not applicable to distance learning courses
  • The scholarships are for new students only and cannot be used to fund a course you have already started
  • No additional funding will be provided for applicants with families
  • Scholarships are for a maximum of two years

All Commonwealth Scholars have a dedicated contact person at the ACU who can be contacted by email and phone.

Eligibility Criteria for Commonwealth Masters Scholarships in South Africa

  • Applicants must be a citizen of a Commonwealth country other than South Africa and must not be currently resident in South Africa
  • Applicants must hold an Honours degree or a four-year degree, equivalent to NQF 8 on the South African National Qualifications Framework, and with an average mark of at least 70%, and meet the minimum entry criteria of the proposed course of study
  • Applicants must not be a current DHET-supported scholarship recipient
  • Applicants must have applied for the identified study programme at the chosen university in South Africa on a full-time basis
  • Applicants’ academic background should be aligned to the proposed field of study

How to apply Commonwealth Masters Scholarships in South Africa

First, you must apply for your chosen course directly with the university. Applicants are advised to arrange for their qualifications to be validated by the South African Qualifications Authority before applying to a university.

Separately, download this scholarship application form, and complete it in as much detail as possible.

As well as the application form, applicants must submit the following:

  • A 500-word research proposal summary, containing:
    • Scientific elements of the proposal: research rationale, problem identification, aims and objectives of research, theoretical framework and research methodology
    • Social relevance of proposed study
  • High school certificates
  • Undergraduate transcripts and graduation certificate
  • At least one academic reference
  • Scan of passport or national ID card
  • Proof of English language ability if English is not your first language
  • Proof that you have applied for the relevant course at your university of choice

Please submit all the required documents above by email to commonwealthscholarship@dhet.gov.za

Related Article: AUC and Chinese government scholarship

Bolarinwa Olajire

A tutor with demonstrated history of working in the education industry. Skilled in analytical skills. Strong education professional with a M. SC focused in condensed matter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button