School Courses And Requirements

List of Institutions Offering SLT or MLS in Nigeria

A simple guide for students aspiring to study medical laboratory science (MLS) or science laboratory technology in the Universities or Polytechnics in Nigeria.

Medical Laboratory Science is offered only in the University while Science Laboratory Technology (SLT) is offered in both Polytechnics and Universities in Nigeria.

Below are the Universities offering Medical Laboratory Science (MLS) in Nigeria:

  • Ambrose Alli University
  • Afe Babalola University
  • Babcock University
  • Bayero University
  • University of Benin
  • University of Calabar
  • Ebonyi State University
  • University of Ibadan
  • Igbinedion University
  • Imo State University
  • University of Jos
  • University of Lagos
  • Ladoke Akintola University
  • Madonna University
  • University of Maiduguri
  • Niger Delta University
  • Usman Danfodio University
  • Nnamdi Azikwe University
  • University of Nigeria

Entry Requirements: WAEC/NECO: Five (5) SSC credit passes in English Language, Mathematics Physics, Chemistry, and Biology. JAMB subject combination: Physics, Chemistry, and Biology.

Below is the list of accredited Universities that offer the course in Nigeria

  • Delta State University, Abraka Delta State
  • Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti state
  • Federal University of Technology, Owerri, Imo State
  • Federal University of Technology, Yola, Adamawa State
  • Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso, Oyo State
  • University of Benin, Benin Edo State
  • University of Jos, Jos Plateau State
  • University of Portharcourt, Rivers State

Polytechnics offering SLT

  • Abia State Polytechnic, Abia State
  • Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic, Unwana, Ebonyi State.
  • Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic, Ikot Osurua. Akwa Ibom State
  • Auchi Polytechnic, Edo State.
  • Benue State Polytechnic, Ugbokolo, Benue State
  • Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro Accredited
  • Federal College of Chemical and Leather Technology, Zaria, Kaduna State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Bauchi, Bauchi State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Bida, Niger State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu, Yobe State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ede, Osun State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe, Yenagoa, Bayelsa State
  • Federal Polytechnic, Idah, Kogi State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Ogun State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Kaura Namoda, Zamfara State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Mubi, Adamawa State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Nassarawa, Nassarawa State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Offa, Kwara State.
  • Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State.
  • Gate Way Polytechnic, Saapade
  • Hassan Usman Katsina Polytechnic, Katsina, Katsina State.
  • Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure, Jigawa State.
  • Institute of Management and Technology, Enugu, Enugu State.
  • Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna, Kaduna State.
  • Kano State Polytechnic, Kano.
  • Kogi State Polytechnic, Lokoja, Kogi State
  • Kwara State Polytechnic, Ilorin, Kwara State.
  • Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu. Lagos.
  • Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Ojeere, Abeokuta, Ogun State.
  • Niger State Polytechnic, Zungeru, Niger State.
  • Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic, Zaria, Kaduna State.
  • Osun State College of Technology, Esa-Oke, Osun State.
  • Osun State Polytechnic, Iree, Osun State.
  • Our Saviour Institute of Science, Agric and Technology, Enugu State
  • Oyo State College of Agriculture, Igbo-Ora, Oyo State
  • Petroleum Training Institute, Effunrun, Delta State.
  • Plateau State Polytechnic, Barkin Ladi
  • Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri, Borno State.
  • Rivers State Polytechnic, Bori, P.M.B. 20, Bori.
  • Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo, Ondo State.
  • Sokoto State Polytechnic, Sokoto.
  • The Polytechnic, Ibadan. Oyo State.
  • Waziri Umoru Federal Polytechnic, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State
  • Yaba College of Technology, Yaba, Lagos.

JAMB subject combination for SLT: Biology, Chemistry and either Physics or Mathematics.


Is there a difference between Medical Laboratory Science and Science Laboratory Technology? Yes, there is they aren’t the same.

A woman who owns a Medical Laboratory once told me that “every registered Medical Laboratory is not authorized to allow SLT students to undergo intern in their Laboratory, if allowed, there are certain things they can’t be exposed to”. This boils down to the fact that SLT and MLS are not the same they aren’t seismic twins that can’t be separated.

There is a need for all applicants to know the differences between the two courses before they study any one of the courses.

MLS is a Medical Science or a Clinical course studied in the College of Medicine under the Faculty of Health Sciences in the university or College of Health Sciences only.

Read: Difference between Microbiology and Medical Laboratory Science

MLS Courses

  1. Medical Biochemistry
  2. Human Anatomy
  3. Human Physiology
  4. Hematology
  5. Pharmacology
  6. Forensic analysis
  7. Embalmment techniques
  8. Clinical pathology
  9. Biostatistics
  10. Virology
  11. Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  12. Public Health and Epidemiology etc.

To study MLS at the University, it will take you six years; a five-year degree programme and one year of internship. After you have satisfied all conditions, you will then be awarded a B.MLS degree

Areas of specialization for Medical Laboratory Science students include

  • Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
  • Virology and Mycology
  • Public Health and Epidemiology
  • Histopathology and Cytopathology
  • Chemical pathology or Clinical chemistry
  • Hematology and Blood group
  • Serology

Science Laboratory technology on the other hand can be studied in most Polytechnics and some Universities in Nigeria as I have named above.

Studying in the Polytechnic will take you Four years (2 years OND and 2 years HND) and thereafter you will be awarded HND in SLT but if you study in the University, you will be awarded B.Tech in SLT.

Graduates of SLT from Polytechnic are called Technician while that of a University are called Laboratory Technologists.

Conclusively, graduates of MLS are health professionals while graduates of SLT are not.

Related Article: List of science courses in Nigeria

Bolarinwa Olajire

A tutor with a demonstrated history of working in the education industry. Skilled in analytical skills. Strong education professional with a M. SC focused in condensed matter. You can follow me on Twitter by clicking on the icon below to ask questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button