Private Universities in Nigeria (Cheapest and the Best) 2024

This article is about private Universities in Nigeria which comprises of the best Universities, cheapest Universities and the list of all private Universities in Nigeria. Currently, there are 111 approved private universities in Nigeria; and out of them, Covenant University is the best while Obong University is the cheapest.

Top 20 best private universities

The rank below was conducted by webometrics in July 2023. According to the info on their website, the ranking is being updated every six months. Covenant University top the list of the best private University in Nigeria and came second in all the Institutions (both Universities and Polytechnics) in Nigeria.

  • Covenant University
  • Landmark University
  • Redeemer’s University
  • American University of Nigeria
  • African University of Science & Technology, Abuja
  • Afe Babalola University Ado Ekiti
  • Babcock University
  • Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa
  • Bowen University
  • Igbinedion University Okada
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University
  • Fountain University Osogbo
  • Ajayi Crowther University Oyo
  • Adeleke University Ede
  • Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos
  • Bingham University, New Karu
  • Benson Idahosa University
  • Elizade University Ilara Mokin
  • Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
  • Lead City University Ibadan

List of Cheap Private Universities in Nigeria

The tuition fee of each school varies depending on the course you want to study. However, the fee given is for the cheapest course in each University. The cheapest private University in Nigeria is Oduduwa University. Below are the list of the cheap private universities in Nigeria with their tuition fee:

  • Obong University, Obong Ntak – N170,000
  • Oduduwa University – N195,000
  • Wellspring University _ N213,000
  • Caritas University – N248,000
  • Paul University, Awka – N300,000
  • Claretian University of Nigerian (CUN school fees) – N300,000
  • Rhema University – N313,000
  • Atiba University Oyo – N300,000 – N600,000
  • Fountain University, Osogbo – N350,000
  • Al-Hikmah University – N350,000
  • Adeleke University – N350,000
  • Novena University – N400,000
  • Crawford University – N450,000
  • Newgate University Minna (NUM school fees) – N450,000
  • Joseph Ayo Babalola University – N436,000
  • Coal City University (CCU school fees) – N467,000
  • Trinity University – N300,000 – N550,000
  • Lead City University – N550,000
  • Tansian University – N258,000-N698,000
  • Glorious Vision University (GVU school fees) – N404,000 – N695,500
  • Mountain Top University (MTU School Fees) – N650,000
  • Veritas University – N720,000
  • Huda University Gusau, HUG Fee – N450,000 – N750,000
  • Topfaith University school fee – N650,000 – N863,000

List of all Private Universities in Nigeria by NUC

I have provided the comprehensive list of all universities in Nigeria in one of my articles. However, below are the list of private universities in Nigeria approved by NUC.

1 Achievers University, Owo
2 Adeleke University, Ede
3 Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State
4 African University of Science & Technology, Abuja
5 Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan
6 Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
7 Al-Qalam University, Katsina
8 American University of Nigeria, Yola
9 Augustine University
10 Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo
11 Baze University
12 Bells University of Technology, Otta
13 Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
14 Bingham University, New Karu
15 Bowen University, Iwo
16 Caleb University, Lagos
17 Caritas University, Enugu
18 Chrisland University
19 Covenant University Ota
20 Crawford University Igbesa
21 Crescent University
22 Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo
23 Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin
24 Evangel University, Akaeze
25 Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo
26 Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State
27 Gregory University, Uturu
28 Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun
29 Hezekiah University, Umudi
30 Igbinedion University Okada
31 Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
32 Kings University, Ode Omu
33 Kwararafa University, Wukari
34 Landmark University, Omu-Aran.
35 Lead City University, Ibadan
36 Madonna University, Okija
37 Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo
38 Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University
39 Mountain Top University
40 Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja
41 Novena University, Ogume
42 Obong University, Obong Ntak
43 Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State
44 Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos
45 Paul University, Awka – Anambra State
46 Redeemer’s University, Ede
47 Renaissance University, Enugu
48 Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State
49 Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom
50 Salem University, Lokoja
51 Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa.
52 Southwestern University, Oku Owa
53 Summit University
54 Tansian University, Umunya
55 University of Mkar, Mkar
56 Veritas University, Abuja
57 Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State
58 Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo
59 Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State
60 Christopher University Mowe
61 Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State
62 Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State
63 Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State
64 Legacy University, Okija Anambra State
65 Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State
66 Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State
67 Coal City University Enugu State
68 Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State
69 Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State
70 Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State
71 Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo
72 PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt
73 Atiba University Oyo
74 Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Ijanikin, Lagos
75 Skyline University, Kano
76 Greenfield University, Kaduna
77 Dominion University Ibadan, Oyo State
78 Trinity University Ogun State
79 Westland University Iwo, Osun State
80 Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom State
81 Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State
82 Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo State
83 Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State
84 Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State
85 Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State
86 Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State
87 Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State
88 NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State
89 Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State
90 James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos State
91 Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano State
92 Capital City University, Kano State
93 Ahman Pategi University, Kwara State
94 University of Offa, Kwara State
95 Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State
96 Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State
97 Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja
98 Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State
99 Anan University, Kwall, Plateau State

Bolarinwa Olajire

A tutor with a demonstrated history of working in the education industry. Skilled in analytical skills. Strong education professional with a M. SC focused in condensed matter. You can follow me on Twitter by clicking on the icon below to ask questions.

Related Articles

Back to top button