Education

List Of Universities In Nigeria Accredited By NUC

Presently, there are 174 universities in Nigeria which include 43 Federal Universities, 52 State Universities, and 79 Private Universities. These universities have their various undergraduate admission requirements which are based on UTME scores and WASSCE results for all the courses offered in Nigerian Universities.

For the sake of my readers, I have decided to give you the list of accredited Universities by NUC and their official websites.  Out of all the 174 universities in Nigeria, some institutions are representing Nigeria well both locally and internationally.

List of Federal Universities in Nigeria

1 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi http://www.atbu.edu.ng
2 Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria http://www.abu.edu.ng
3 Bayero University, Kano http://www.buk.edu.ng
4 Federal University Gashua, Yobe
Home
5 Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun
Home 1
6 Federal University of Technology, Akure http://www.futa.edu.ng
7 Federal University of Technology, Minna http://www.futminna.edu.ng
8 Federal University of Technology, Owerri
Home Page
9 Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State http://www.fud.edu.ng/
10 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina
About FUDMA
11 Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State
Homepage
12 Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State http://www.fulafia.edu.ng
13 Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State http://www.fulokoja.edu.ng
14 Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State
Home
15 Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa http://www.fuotuoke.edu.ng/
16 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State http://www.fuoye.edu.ng/
17 Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State http://www.fuwukari.edu.ng/
18 Federal University, Birnin Kebbi http://www.fubk.edu.ng
19 Federal University, Gusau Zamfara http://www.fugusau.edu.ng
20 Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike http://www.mouau.edu.ng
21 Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola http://www.mautech.edu.ng
22 National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos http://www.nou.edu.ng
23 Nigeria Police Academy Wudil http://polac.edu.ng/
24 Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna http://www.nda.edu.ng
25 Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka
Home
26 Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife http://www.oauife.edu.ng
27 University of Abuja, Gwagwalada http://www.uniabuja.edu.ng
28 Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
Home
29 University of Agriculture, Makurdi
Home
30 University of Benin http://www.uniben.edu.ng
31 University of Calabar http://www.unical.edu.ng
32 University of Ibadan http://www.ui.edu.ng
33 University of Ilorin http://www.unilorin.edu.ng
34 University of Jos http://www.unijos.edu.ng
35 University of Lagos
Unilag Home
36 University of Maiduguri http://www.unimaid.edu.ng
37 University of Nigeria, Nsukka http://www.unn.edu.ng
38 University of Port-Harcourt http://www.uniport.edu.ng
39 University of Uyo http://www.uniuyo.edu.ng
40 Usumanu Danfodiyo University http://www.udusok.edu.ng
41 Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State
42 Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna https://afit.edu.ng
43 Nigerian Army University Biu
Home

List of State Universities

1 Abia State University, Uturu http://www.absu.edu.ng
2 Adamawa State University Mubi http://www.adsu.edu.ng
3 Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba http://www.aaua.edu.ng
4 Akwa Ibom State University, Ikot Akpaden http://www.aksu.edu.ng
5 Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma http://www.aauekpoma.edu.ng
6 Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli http://coou.edu.ng/
7 Bauchi State University, Gadau
Home
8 Benue State University, Makurdi http://www.bsum.edu.ng
9 Yobe State University, Damaturu http://www.ysu.edu.ng
10 Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar http://www.crutech.edu.ng
11 Delta State University Abraka http://www.delsu.edu.ng
12 Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki http://www.ebsu.edu.ng
13 Ekiti State University
Ekiti State University
14 Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu http://www.esut.edu.ng
15 Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe http://www.gsu.edu.ng
16 Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai
Loading edit final
17 Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni http://www.iaue.edu.ng
18 Imo State University, Owerri http://www.imsu.edu.ng
19 Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausa, Jigawa
Home
20 Kaduna State University, Kaduna http://www.kasu.edu.ng
21 Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil http://www.kust.edu.ng
22 Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero http://www.ksusta.edu.ng
23 Kogi State University Anyigba http://www.ksu.edu.ng
24 Kwara State University, Ilorin http://www.kwasu.edu.ng
25 Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso http://www.lautech.edu.ng
26 Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa http://www.osustech.edu.ng
27 River State University http://www.rsu.edu.ng
28 Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye http://www.oouagoiwoye.edu.ng
29 Lagos State University, Ojo http://www.lasu.edu.ng
30 Niger Delta University Yenagoa http://www.ndu.edu.ng
31 Nasarawa State University Keffi http://www.nsuk.edu.ng
32 Plateau State University Bokkos http://www.plasu.edu.ng
33 Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode http://www.tasued.edu.ng
34 Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina http://www.umyu.edu.ng
35 Osun State University Osogbo http://www.uniosun.edu.ng
36 Taraba State University, Jalingo
home
37 Sokoto State University http://www.ssu.edu.ng
38 Yusuf Maitama Sule University Kano http://www.nwu.edu.ng
39 Oyo State Technical University Ibadan
Home
40 Ondo State University of Medical Sciences http://www.unimed.edu.ng
41 Edo University Iyamo http://www.edouniversity.edu.ng/
42 Eastern Palm University Ogboko, Imo State https://www.epu.edu.ng/
43 University of Africa Toru Orua, Bayelsa State https://www.uat.edu.ng/public/
44 Bornu State University, Maiduguri
45 Moshood Abiola University of Science and Technology Abeokuta
46 Gombe State University of Science and Technology
47 Zamfara State University
48 Bayelsa Medical University
49 University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Umuagwo
50 University of Creative Technology Umuna
51 University of Medical Science Ogboko
52 University of Science and Technology Omuna Isiako

List of Private Universities in Nigeria

1 Achievers University, Owo
Home
2 Adeleke University, Ede
Home
3 Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State
Urgent: 2016-nnpc-snepco-national-university-scholarship-announcement
4 African University of Science & Technology, Abuja http://aust.edu.ng
5 Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan http://www.acu.edu.ng
6 Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin
Home
7 Al-Qalam University, Katsina http://www.auk.edu.ng
8 American University of Nigeria, Yola http://www.aun.edu.ng
9 Augustine University http://www.augustineuniversity.edu.ng/
10 Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo http://www.babcock.edu.ng
11 Baze University http://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng
12 Bells University of Technology, Otta
Home
13 Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
Home
14 Bingham University, New Karu http://www.binghamuni.edu.ng
15 Bowen University, Iwo http://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org
16 Caleb University, Lagos
Homepage
17 Caritas University, Enugu http://www.caritasuni.edu.ng/
18 Chrisland University http://www.chrislanduniversity.edu.ng
19 Covenant University Ota http://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng/
20 Crawford University Igbesa http://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng
21 Crescent University http://www.crescent-university.edu.ng
22 Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo
Home
23 Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin http://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng
24 Evangel University, Akaeze http://www.evangeluniversity.edu.ng
25 Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo http://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng
26 Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State
Home
27 Gregory University, Uturu http://www.gregoryuniversity.com
28 Hallmark University, Ijebi Itele, Ogun http://www.hallmark.edu.ng
29 Hezekiah University, Umudi
Home
30 Igbinedion University Okada
Home Page
31 Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji
Home
32 Kings University, Ode Omu http://www.kingsuniversity.edu.ng/
33 Kwararafa University, Wukari http://www.kwararafauniversity.edu.ng
34 Landmark University, Omu-Aran. http://www.lmu.edu.ng
35 Lead City University, Ibadan http://www.lcu.edu.ng
36 Madonna University, Okija http://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng
37 Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo http://www.mcu.edu.ng
38 Micheal & Cecilia Ibru University
Home
39 Mountain Top University
Home
40 Nile University of Nigeria, Abuja http://www.ntnu.edu.ng
41 Novena University, Ogume http://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng
42 Obong University, Obong Ntak
Obong Universit├Ąt, Nigeria
43 Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State http://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng
44 Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos
Home
45 Paul University, Awka – Anambra State
Home
46 Redeemer’s University, Ede http://www.run.edu.ng
47 Renaissance University, Enugu http://www.rnu.edu.ng
48 Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State http://www.rhemauniversity.edu.ng
49 Ritman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom http://www.ritmanuniversity.edu.ng
50 Salem University, Lokoja
Home
51 Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa. http://www.sau.edu.ng
52 Southwestern University, Oku Owa
Home
53 Summit University http://www.summituniversity.edu.ng
54 Tansian University, Umunya http://tansianuniversity.edu.ng/
55 University of Mkar, Mkar http://www.unimkar.edu.ng
56 Veritas University, Abuja http://www.veritas.edu.ng
57 Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State http://www.wellspringuniversity.net
58 Wesley University. of Science & Technology, Ondo http://www.wusto.edu.ng
59 Western Delta University, Oghara Delta State http://wdu.edu.ng
60 Christopher University Mowe http://www.christopheruniversity.edu.ng/
61 Kola Daisi University Ibadan, Oyo State
Home
62 Anchor University Ayobo Lagos State http://www.aul.edu.ng/
63 Dominican University Ibadan Oyo State http://www.dui.edu.ng/
64 Legacy University, Okija Anambra State http://www.legacyuniversity.edu.ng/
65 Arthur Javis University Akpoyubo Cross river State http://www.arthurjarvisuniversity.edu.ng/
66 Crown Hill University Eiyenkorin, Kwara State http://www.crownhilluniversity.edu.ng/
67 Coal City University Enugu State
68 Clifford University Owerrinta Abia State http://www.clifforduni.edu.ng/
69 Admiralty University, Ibusa Delta State
HOME
70 Spiritan University, Nneochi Abia State http://www.spiritanuniversity.edu.ng
71 Precious Cornerstone University, Oyo
Home
72 PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Portharcourt
Home
73 Atiba University Oyo
74 Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences Ijanikin, Lagos http://www.ekounivmed.edu.ng
75 Skyline University, Kano http://www.sun.edu.ng
76 Greenfield University, Kaduna http://www.gfu.edu.ng
77 Dominion University Ibadan, Oyo State
Welcome
78 Trinity University Ogun State http://www.trinityuniversity.edu.ng/
79 Westland University Iwo, Osun State

Although there are other Universities in Nigeria that are not included on the list and they are universities that are illegal because they are not recognised by NUC.

Bolarinwa Olajire

A lecturer, Educationist, PhD student at FUNAAB, and a Blogger.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button