List of Nigerian Universities And Their Catchment Areas

One of the steps a smart student take is to know the catchment areas of the school he wants to choose when filling JAMB form online. It is important to bear in mind that catchment areas are majorly used in Federal Universities.

The policy was introduced in order not to localized federal tertiary institutions and to unite the nation. It is important you bear in mind that admission into tertiary institution in Nigeria is defined in three areas:

University of Ibadan (UI) catchment areas

  1. Merit

Candidates admitted on merit are the set of people that meet all the requirements of the school i.e. UTME score, Post UTME score, and O’level requirement. However, the policy is that only 45% of them must be given admission.

  1. Catchment Area

These are states that are geographically connected to the University. It is a way of recognizing indigenes of the school and that of the neighbouring states. 35% goes to these set of candidates.

  1. Educationally Less Developed States (ELDS)

20% of admission quota goes to ELDS. These are states that are less developed educationally. These states include Bayelsa, Ebonyi, Jigawa, Zamfara, Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Gombe, Jigawa, Kano, Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba and Yobe.

The purpose of these three areas is to have universality, give everyone an opportunity to be educated, and as well have a sense of belonging.

A candidate must understand that he/she must be aware of the three “admission areas” before choosing a course of study in any university in Nigeria. This means if I miss an opportunity to gain admission through merit, I must maximize the catchment or ELDS opportunity. I termed this as “three big admission success tool”

Note: This doesn’t mean a candidate won’t meet up with the minimum requirements of the school. What this does is to increase your chances of gaining admission having met with the school cut-off mark.

For instance, if UI cut-off mark for medicine is 250 and they wanted to admit 100 candidates, it is possible to see like 300 students that applied to the score 250 and above. And it is impossible to admit all the 300 candidates. In this kind of situation, your saving grace to gain admission might be catchment areas or ELDS.

Federal Universities and their catchment areas

Below are the list of catchment areas of Nigerian universities:

uniport catchment area

  1. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU): Kaduna, Kogi, Kano, Kastina, Niger, Kwara, Benue, Bauchi, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Plateau, Jigawa, Borno, Zamfara, Yobe, Taraba, Gombe, FCT, Kebbi, Sokota
  2. University of Lagos (UNILAG): Ogun, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Ondo, Ekiti
  3. University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN): Enugu, Anambra, Imo, Abia, Ebonyi
  4. Bayero University Kano (BUK): Kano, Kaduna, Jigawa, Kastina, Kebbi, Zamfara, Sokoto
  5. University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID): Borno, Adamawa, Yobe, Gombe, Bauchi, Taraba
  6. Nnamdi Azikwe University (UNIZIK): Anambra, Imo, Enugu, Abia, Ebonyi
  7. University of Calabar (UNICAL): Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Rivers, Delta, Bayelsa, Edo
  8. University of Jos (UNIJOS): Plateau, Benue, Nasarawa, Kogi, Kwara, Niger
  9. University of Ilorin (UNILORIN): Kwara, Benue, Kogi, Niger, Nasarawa, Plateau
  10. University of Port-Harcourt (UNIPORT): Rivers, Delta, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Edo, Cross River
  11. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU): Bauchi, Gombe, Yobe, Borno, Adamawa, Taraba
  12. University of Ibadan (UI): Oyo, Osun, Ogun, Ondo, Ekiti, Lagos
  13. University of Abuja (UNIABUJA): All the states and FCT
  14. Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA): Ondo, Ekiti, Lagos, Osun, Oyo
  15. Federal University of Technology Minna (FUTMINNA): Niger, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Plateau, Sokoto, Zamfara
  16. Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO): Imo, Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu
  17. Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola (MAUTECH): Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe
  18. Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU): Osun, Ekiti, Lagos, Oyo, Ondo
  19. Usman Danfodio University (UDUSOK): Sokoto, Jigawa, Kwara, Kebbi, Katsina, Kano, Kano, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Niger, Zamfara
  20. University of Benin (UNIBEN): Edo, Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Rivers
  21. Kwara, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Nasarawa, Plateau, Sokoto, Zamfara
  22. University of Uyo (UNIUYO): Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Rivers

Related Article: How to gain admission into UI

I hope this article has provided you with the information you needed about the catchment states of your preferred institution. If you have any related question, don’t hesitate to leave a comment.

Bolarinwa Olajire

A tutor with a demonstrated history of working in the education industry. Skilled in analytical skills. Strong education professional with a M. SC focused in condensed matter. You can follow me on Twitter by clicking on the icon below to ask questions.


  1. I have added the JAMB policy meeting presentation in the article showing the catchment areas of Uniport. I hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button